ABA Teams in NBA

ABA Julius Erving New York Nets

The American Basketball Association (ABA) was a men’s professional basketball league from 1967 to 1976. The league merged with NBA in 1976, leading to 4 ABA teams joining the NBA. The ABA was instrumental in shaping the current NBA as it lead to the introduction of the 3-point shot in the NBA in 1979. It also pioneered the advent of the now popular NBA slam dunk contest at the final ABA All-Star Game in 1976.

The 4 teams that joined the NBA are:

New York Nets (which later became New Jersey Nets and is currently the Brooklyn Nets)

New York Nets 1972-1977 logo transparent PNG

Denver Nuggets

Denver Nuggets 1974-1976 logo transparent PNG

Indiana Pacers

Indiana Pacers 1967-1976 logo transparent PNG

San Antonio Spurs

San Antonio Spurs 1973-1989 logo transparent PNG