USFL (1983-1985) Teams Logos

The original United States Football League (USFL) was a professional American football league that played for three seasons, 1983 through 1985. The league played a Spring/Summer schedule in each of its active seasons. The 1986 season was scheduled to be played in the Fall/Winter, directly competing against NFL. However, the USFL ceased operations before that season was scheduled to begin.

The league had some of the best football talents, signing 3 consecutive Heisman Trophy winners directly out of college. They were Georgia running back Herschel Walker and Boston College quarterback Doug Flutie signed with the New Jersey Generals, and Nebraska running back Mike Rozier with the Pittsburgh Maulers. Future NFL Hall of Famers also started their careers in the USFL. They were defensive end Reggie White (Memphis Showboats), offensive tackle Gary Zimmerman (Los Angeles Express), quarterback Jim Kelly (Houston Gamblers) and quarterback Steve Young (Los Angeles Express).

USFL Teams Logos

League Logo

You May Also Like