Golden State Warriors Logo History

Watch NBA League Pass on Roku | All-Star game logos | No. 8 upsets over No. 1 in NBA Playoffs

The Warriors NBA franchise started in 1946 as the Philadelphia Warriors. In 1962, the team moved to the Bay Area in San Francisco and became the San Francisco Warriors. Because of low attendance, the team moved across the bay to Oakland and changed its name to Golden State Warriors. The current Warriors logo features Golden Gate bridge as the team currently plays in San Francisco but wants to capture both Oakland and SF bay area fans.

Golden State Warriors Logos (1971-Present)

San Francisco Warriors Logos (1962-1971)

Philadelphia Warriors Logos (1946-1962)

Golden State Warriors Schedule >
Golden State Warriors Tickets >
Golden State Warriors Roster >


What was the name of the Golden State Warriors before?
The Warriors franchise were founded in 1946 as the Philadelphia Warriors. They moved to San Francisco in 1962 and changed their name to the San Francisco Warriors. In 1971, the team changed its name to the Golden State Warriors to reflect the statewide appeal of California.

How many championships does Golden State Warriors have?
The Warriors franchise have won 7 NBA championships, in 1947, 1956, 1975, 2015, 2017, 2018, and 2022.

Why Warriors are called dubs?
As a shortening of “W’s”, the Warriors have been nicknamed “Dubs”.