NHL Defunct Teams

The National Hockey League (NHL) is a professional men’s ice hockey league founded in 1917. Since then, there has been 6 defunct teams and 1 that merged into another existing team. Here is the list of all the team franchises that formally folded.

Montreal Wanderers

Quebec Bulldogs / Hamilton Tigers

Pittsburgh Pirates / Philadelphia Quakers

Ottawa Senators / St. Louis Eagles

Montreal Maroons

New York Americans / Brooklyn Americans