Philadelphia Warriors 1946-1947

Original NBA Teams 1946-1947 Season

Posted Posted in Sports

The NBA originated in 1946 with 11 teams. The league did not have a NBA logo until 1950 season. In that season, the league was known as Basketball Association of America (BAA). The original teams played a 60-game schedule with the postseason playoffs in 1947. Philadelphia Warriors became the first BAA Champion, beating the Chicago […]

Philadelphia 76ers Transparent Team Logo

Philadelphia 76ers (Sixers) Logo History

The Philadelphia 76ers was founded in 1946 and originally known as the Syracuse Nationals. The team moved to Philadelphia in 1963 and became the 76ers. Commonly known as the Sixers, the current logo is a modern take on the old logo which features the number 76 with 13 stars arranged in a circle. The stars […]

Philadelphia Eagles team logo

Philadelphia Eagles Logo, Helmet History

In 1931, Philadelphia’s NFL franchise, the Frankford Yellow Jackets, went bankrupt and ceased operations midway through the season. After a year of searching for replacement, NFL granted an expansion franchise to new owners Lud Wray and Bert Bell. They named the new franchise the Philadelphia Eagles and played their first game on October 15, 1933. […]